God and Evil, Isaiah 45:7

by redguthrie

In my attempts to better understand the teachings of the Lord, I often seek out scriptural commentaries. One that I’ve enjoyed for many years is Search the Scriptures by Presvytera and Dr. Jeannie Constantinou on Ancient Faith Radio. Dr. Constantinou is a member of the Greek Orthodox Church and a Biblical scholar. Unfortunately, I often fall behind on her podcasts because either I get distracted by other concerns or she takes a long break between recordings and I forget to check to see when she releases new material.

I recently began making my way through a backlog of Search the Scripture episodes I’d missed and found her discussion of Isaiah 45:7, “ I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the Lord do all these things” to be particularly insightful. In it, using commentary from early theologians including St. John Chrysostom, Origen, and St. Basil the Great, she explains how God is not the source of evil in the world despite passages like Isaiah 45:7 and others that seem to declare God to be evil. It’s very worth a listen if you have about 45 minutes to spare while driving, doing chores, or sitting in quiet contemplation.

Give Isaiah 45:7 a listen, and if you like it, Dr. Constantinou has many more episodes to enlighten your understanding of God’s word.

Here is a direct link to the audio file of the podcast.

